Highland Park Swears in New Mayor and Town Council

Highland Park’s new mayor, Will C. Beecherl, was sworn in Tuesday morning along with the rest of the Town Council members. 

Beecherl is joined on the new Town Council by incumbent members Marc Myers, Lydia Novakov, and Craig Penfold and new members Don Snell (who was unable to be in attendance) and Leland White. Municipal judge Albert D. Hammack administered the oath of office.

The council’s outgoing members include former mayor Margo Goodwin, former mayor pro tem David Dowler, and former council member Jimmy Grisham. Goodwin served four years as mayor and was previously a Town Council member. Dowler and Grisham served on the council for six and four years, respectively. 

The town council voted on March 1 to declare the election unopposed and cancel the election scheduled for May 7.

Share this article...
Email this to someone
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.