DMA Announces 2022 Awards To Artists Recipients

The Dallas Museum of Art recently announced this year’s recipients of the 2022 Awards to Artists.

This year, 10 artists received awards from the Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund Award, the Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund Award, and the Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant. All 2022 recipients are from Texas including nine based in the Dallas–Fort Worth area. Multidisciplinary artist Ciara Elle Bryant served as this year’s guest juror.    

“We are so grateful for the opportunity to recognize the outstanding talent in our region through the DMA’s Awards to Artists Program,” said Dr. Anna Katherine Brodbeck, the Hoffman Family senior curator of contemporary art at the DMA. “We are continuously impressed by the ambitions of these emerging and established artists to challenge themselves and grow their practices, and we are honored to play our part in encouraging new experiences and experiments through material support.” 

 The DeGolyer and Kimbrough funds will primarily support research and materials for the development of new, ambitious bodies of work. Projects and activities include the creation of a performance-based sculpture, funds to attend exhibitions and site visits, mobile studio space, and supplies. 

The Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant will support travel to Guanajuato, Mexico. The American Wet, Italy, and Łódź, Poland. 

The awarded artists’ work represents the span of contemporary art production, with practices that traverse drawing, sculpture, installation, video, painting, and digital art.   

2022 Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund Award recipients: 

Aliyah Cydonia Scobey 

Kameron Walker 

2022 Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund Award recipients: 

Krista Chalkley 

Julia Caswell Freund 

Erica Lee 

Enrique Nevarez 

Sarah Pickett 

2022 Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant recipients: 

Sarah Ayala 

Kristen Cochran 

Nishiki Sugawara-Beda 

The museum’s annual awards were established in 1980 by the Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund and the Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund to recognize the talent and potential in young visual artists who show a commitment to continuing their artistic endeavors. The two funds have awarded over $630,000 to artists since their founding supporting more than 300 recipients.

The Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant was created in 1990 and honors the memory of Dallas artists Otis and Velma Dozier, who strongly believed in the enriching influence of travel on an artist’s work. The grant seeks to recognize talent in professional artists who wish to expand their artistic horizons through domestic or foreign travel. It is awarded to professional artists at least 30 years of age who reside in Texas. Since the fund’s development, the Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant has given over $200,000. 

For more information about the Dallas Museum of Art, visit the museum’s website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.