Scots Have Six First-Teamers

Six Highland Park players landed on the first team of the All-District 10-4A baseball squad.

Pitcher Andrew Scudder, first baseman Ben McElroy, second baseman Ford Stainback, shortstop JB Gadd (pictured), third baseman Ryan Gros, and outfielder Jake Howeth were all first-team selections. Gadd and Gros were unanimous selections.

Pitcher Preston Edwards was also named to the second team.

Rockwall-Heath pitcher/first baseman Jake Thompson and Newman Smith shortstop Brandon Mims were Co-Most Valuable Players. Heath third baseman/pitcher Jovan Hernandez was the Offensive MVP. Heath shortstop Trevor Hubbard was the Defensive MVP. Heath’s James Baune was the Pitcher of the Year. Newman Smith outfielder Alex Benbow was the Newcomer of the Year. Pearce’s Trevor Renfro was the Underclassman of the Year. And Heath’s Greg Harvey was Coach of the Year.

The Scots finished 25-10-1 in head coach Fred Oliver’s first season. HP lost to eventual state semifinalist Frisco Wakeland in bi-district.

2 thoughts on “Scots Have Six First-Teamers

  • June 22, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Gros also received All State 2nd team honors – great season, great kid

  • June 22, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    These are great guys… Coach O should have gotten a nod as well. Kudos to the whole team: players, trainers, and managers, team moms, and great parents!

    Go Scots!


Leave a Reply to goscots! Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *